WL//WH Track Of The Day: ES “Hidden Track”

Track Of The Day  ES

Almost four years after their debut 4-track EP ‘Object Relations’ released through Hackney’s independent punk label La Vida Es Un Mus, London-based synth-punk four-piece ES, made of Maria Cecilia Tedemalm (vocals), Katy Cotterell (bass), Tamsin M. Leach (drums) and Flora Watters (keyboards), show up again with a with a more minimal, tense, sharp and frigid post-punk sound than ever, ready to unveil their long awaited debut album ‘Less of Everything’, slated for release on 3rd April via Upset The Rhythm.

The band have just shared the second preview titled ‘Hidden Track’.

As much hectic and primal, as it is thought provoking and introspective, the new single is a propulsive dark and gripping excursion into the deep dim pit of the human psyche, explored with obsessive hypnotically taut, abrasive guitar riffs, backed by ritualistic drums and bleak undulating bassline, whilst meandering glassy eerie synths send shards of neurotic paranoia, lit up by fiery breathy angry chants injecting emotional ruminations on the sanctity of privacy and individuality, while layers upon layers of sound soar in dramatic ominous intensity with a struggle to find inner harmony between love, boundaries, and self.

Pre-order the vinyl edition album here: https://upsettherhythm.bigcartel.com/product/es-less-of-everything-lp-pre-order

Picture by @tru_romank