WL//WH Weekly Shoegaze / Dreampop / Psychedelic / Indie Tips

Weekly Shoegaze / Dreampop / Psychedelic / Indie Tips #18


  • Rochester, NY shoegaze rockers FULL BODY “you made me realise” (MBV cover)

As their name suggests Rochester 4-piece deliver an impactful ‘full-bodied’ approach to the MBV classic steadily fuel with drive and fire, it’s a sharp, raw and gripping beautiful noise that cuts right into the guts.

  • US shoegazey/indie rock band from Portland, Phosphene “Incandescent Plumes” 3rd single from the forthcoming LP “Lotus Eaters.”

The new Phosphene single exudes dark nostalgic moods meandering introspectively, through depression and pain built, in haunting intensity, by sinuous post-punkish bassline and bleeding guitar melodies, whilst passionate burning female vocals anxiously fear the end of a dangerous relationship that has caused a shattered mental fate. A brilliant way to set the tone of the upcoming album.

  • Los Angeles based dream-pop project of Rhyan Riesgo, TODAVIA “Paradiso” new single

Italian ‘heavenly’ title for the evocative, swooning yet angsty dreamy new signature tune from L.A. based artist, that glides softly, gently pierced by reverb-laden gleaming guitar melodies, over dire gaspy vocals, soaked in flowing lush synth swells, brimming with neon-lit dystopian fear and enticing layers of lost hollow dreams.

  • Besançon, France ambient/cinematic instrumental solo project of a former member of post-rockers Feroces, DARK SUPREME “Nothing Is Next” (Voice by Daniel Kaluuya./ Black Mirror) second single                                     
  • French experimental electronic producer, live performer and Microdosing label head, Julienne Dessagne, aka Fantastic Twins “The Myth Of Twinus” from “Collected Twins 1” compilation EP
  • Paris new wave/dream pop band FIASCO “Paris Summer (Lee Hazlewood & Nancy Sinatra)” off of V/A “Au dehors” fundraising compilation via In Silico Records
  • London, UK noir-pop/shoegaze/dream pop duo of Dean Garcia (formerly of Curve) & Rose Berlin, SPC ECO “You Got This” from “5月EP May” EP
  • Russian dream pop /shoegaze band from Saint Petersbourg, Pinkshinyultrablast “Songs” new single
  • Nottingham, UK noise-pop/dream pop/shoegaze band SPOTLIGHT KID “Rave Endgame” (originally featured as an exclusive track on the SMR sampler ‘Static Waves 5’) from the compilation album “Covers & Compilations”.
  • Wellington, NZ jangle/power/indie-pop singer/songwriter S A Reyners “My Favourite Band” from the upcoming 2-track “(Mystery single)”
  • London-based indie/jangle/dream-pop duo The Death of Pop “Percolator” (Stereolab cover) off of the album “Coats” a collection of covers recorded between 2013 – 2019
  • Los Angeles psych/jangle/shoegaze/krautrock/noise-pop quintet led by Joe Trainor (ex-Wildhoney), DUMMY “Avant-Garde Gas Station” from the S/T debut EP
  • Paris based indie/garage/guitar pop band EggS “Still Life” from the 7″ single “Life During Wartime” on Howlin Banana Records                                                                                                                                       
  • Leeds, UK lo-fi/indie/garage rock band (members of Far Caspian and Dharma Wilde), EADES “Same Guy” new single
  • Vancouver, BC indie/dream pop/synthpop band DREAMCARS “Myth of the Cat” title track from the new album “Myth of the Cat” on Burger Records
  • Australian post-punk/dream pop/new wave project of Tom Crandles, aka PRUDENCE “Heart Sways” new single
  • Paris, France shoegaze/space rock/psychedelic trio SUBZERO FUN “FU//FM” from the new EP “ON3”
  • Swedish fuzzy shoegaze/psychedelic band from Stockholm, The Janitors – “The mind is a terrible thing” 3rd instalment in the noisolation series.
  • Manchester, UK lo-fi/krautrock/dark psychedelic artist Rhys Bloodjoy “Run From The Hunter” from the upcoming LP “Human.Pattern.Repeat.” via Sister 9 Recordings
  • French indie/post-punk/garage rock band from Toulouse, Cathedrale “Shine The Light” from the third album “Houses are Built the Same” via Howlin’ Banana Records and Rockerill Records
  • Boston, Ma lo-fi experimental pop 7-piece ensemble lead by bassist and composer Henry Fraser, The Full Salon “The Intendant” from the S/T album on Erased! Tapes
  • West Midlands, UK noisy/fuzzy/emogaze/doom pop band WISHBONE “Pseudo Reality” from debut EP “Pseudo Planet”
  • Amsterdam, Netherlands indie alternative 4-piece PIP BLOM “Sell By Date” new single                                                  
  • Kansas City psych/post-punk/art-rock band Monta At Odds “Zen Diagram” title track from the new EP
  • Mexico City Noise Pop/Dream Wave 4-piece LANCASTELL “Love of Mine” from the new EP “Astenia”
  • Canadian ambient/dream pop/shoegaze project of multidisciplinary artist Jonathan Relph from Toronto, Indoor Voices “Echoes” title track from the new EP
  • Australian shoegaze /dream pop foursome from Brisbane, Ultra Material “In the Garden” from the new EP 3
  • UK shoegaze/post-rock/dreampop solo project by Nathan Smith aka The Virgance “Battle Damage” from the forthcoming album “Flying V”
  • San Francisco/Los Angeles dream pop/shoegaze/fuzz folk duo of Glenn Donaldson (Skygreen Leopards, Art Museums, The Reds, Pinks & Purples, The Telephone Numbers) and Jem Fanvu (Tune Yards collaborator), aka VACANT GARDENS “He Moves Through Mountains” from V/A “CosmoPraesidium” benefit compilation on Eiderdown Records
  • Volgograd, Russia indie rock trio Раздор [Razdor] “I” off of new EP “Руда”
  • Angers, France shoegaze/folk/indie rock band Big Wool “Hello Houston” from “Simple Travel” EP
  • Echo Park, L.A. new wave/garage/mutant-pop band lead by former Corners, Robert Cifuentes, BILLY CHANGER “Nursery” new single                                                                                                                            
  • Nova Scotia‘s synthwave/art-pop artist Kirsten Cudmore aka Language Arts “Sprout” from upcoming album ‘Lemon//Lime’ out in late 2020                                                                                                                                         
  • Portland-based indie/dream pop/synthpop duo Tiny Fireflies “Farewell” bonus track on the Japanese edition of “The Space Between.”
  • Hawaii/Salt Lake City cinematic/electronic/dream wave duo, Lunar Twin “Hawks” from the debut LP “Ghost Moon Ritual”
  • Brighton, UK indie/synthpop duo Battery Operated Orchestra [BOO] “The Getaway” new single
  • Brooklyn, NY guitar/synthpop duo The Blessed Isles “Havoc” title track from the new EP “havoc”
  • Minneapolis electro-pop band POLIÇA “comingdown” (unreleased) from “Tricky Lovers Coming Down” single
  • Vancouver, BC new romantic/bedroom/synth-pop solo project of Nikki Nevver, aka TERROR BIRD “Letter L” from the album “Demos 2015-2018
  • Northville, New York dream pop/shoegaze/indie rock guitarist Ian Edwards “Mumblin'” from “Black Box Theaters” EP
  • Antwerp, Belgium shoegaze 5-piece Newmoon “Give Me Pain (acoustic)” from “Live at Caffènation” EP Recorded live at Caffènation Antwerp on October 10th 2019
  • Buffalo, NY ambient/post-rock solo project of Jeff Kandefer, aka PLIOCENE “Death Can’t Touch You Now”