WL//WH Weekly Shoegaze/ Dreampop / Psychedelic / Indie Tips

Weekly Shoegaze/ Dreampop / Psychedelic / Indie Tips #18

Picks Of The Week:

  • Ufa, Russian indie /shoegaze /dreampop all-girl band акульи слёзы ‘Напиши | Text me’ from the debut album ‘Опыт очарования | Experience of the charm’ on POW! POP KIDS

Talented Russian all-girl combo entirely confirm with their debut album a deliciously seductive and dangerously  infectious blend of dreamy pop sounds.

  • Melbourne, Australian indie /jangle /guitar pop new band of former The Ocean Party’s member, Lachlan Denton & Studio Magic “This Christmas” first single from the forthcoming album ‘A Brother’ out on July the 19th via Bobo Integral and Osborne Again.                                                                                                           

Sublime, and moving jangly indie pop comes from former The Ocean Party member’s new outfit in the wake of the tragic death of his brother Zac, can’t help but tug at your heartstrings.

  • Brisbane, Australia electronic /dream pop duo (former members of FOREVR, Martyr Privates and Glitter Veils), DEVOTIONS “Nil By Mouth” debut single                                                                                                               

Unitled like one of my favorite movies ever (directed by Gary Oldman), debut from Brisbane based duo, although in a more subtly and refined way, takes you completely over with its cinematic, brooding and profoundly wistful vocal and instrumental breath.

  • Halmstad/Malmö, Sweden dream pop /indie rock band MAUV “I Like It Here” debut single on VÅRØ                              
  • Argentinian indie /shoegaze /garage /dream rock duo from Buenos Aires, RIEL “BB” from the new album “Espacio Interior’’ vía Casa del Puente Discos & Buen Dia Records              
  • Chicago, Il indie pop-rock quartet NE-HI “Exit Stations” from s/t EP                                                                           
  • Québec City, Canadian electronic dream pop band, Men I Trust ”Norton Commander (All We Need)” new single                                                                                                                                                                 
  • Milwaukee, Wisconsin side project featuring members of shoegaze band Brief Candles flipping instruments with drummer Brock Gourlie, BLUE UNIT “Ground” from debut s/t cassette EP on Somewherecold Records
  • Canadian ‘creampop’ dreampoppers (formerly known as Cult Classic) from Montreal, BODYWASH “Eye to Eye” new single on Luminelle                                                                                                                                   
  • Swedish synthpop /indie pop producer /musician /DJ Tobias Isaksson aka AZURE BLUE “Millions Of Stars” taken from the 2-track ”Millions of Stars” on Matinée Recordings                                                                           
  • Atlanta based indie /dream pop project of singer-songwriter Jordan Reynolds, aka ROSE HOTEL “Write Home” from debut LP ‘I Will Only Come When Its A Yes’ out on 31st May                                                                     
  • Spanish indie pop /shoegaze /dream pop foursome from Sevilla, The Royal Landscaping Society ”Goodbye” off 2-track single on Matinee Recordings.                                                                                                                                        
  • American fuzzy psychedelic band from Humboldt, Ca, WHITE MANNA – “Ape On Sunday” title track from the upcoming album on Cardinal Fuzz                    
  • Memphis, TN psych garage punk band featuring members of Ex-Cult, Aquarian Blood, and Jack Oblivian’s backing band The Sheiks, Model Zero – “Gift Of Lies” from upcoming s/t album on Slovenly Recordings        
  • Denver, Co alt /shoegaze /doomgaze power trio Palehorse/Palerider “Fire Gone Out” from new 2-track single “Fire Gone Out / Haxan”                                                                                                                                                         
  • Boston power poppers Halfsour “Milk Bath” from the album “Sticky” on Fire Talk                                               
  • Swedish indie rock quartet from Gothenburg, Great Hare “Carry On” new single                                               
  • French psych/post-punk/shoegaze band from Rouen, MNNQNS “Desperation Moon” from the forthcoming album “Body Negative” on Fat Cat.
  • Texas goth/shoegaze/dream pop solo project THE BRADLEY “I’m Not Getting Any Cooler” from the new “Eternal Spring” EP
  • Norwegian fuzz noise pop trio from Oslo, The Age of Colored Lizards “Blurry Eyes” on Sotron Records
  • Taipei, Taiwan noise rock/shoegaze band Manic Sheep “Deep Dusk” new single
  • Fukuoka, Japan lo-fi guitar pop /dream pop /bedroom pop project HAPPYPILLS “Laundry” from the debut album “Milk Floe”
  • Singapore‘s noise rock /dream pop /shoegaze band Coming Up Roses “Sky” from the new EP “Waters”
  • Japanese indie power guitar pop band KUNG-FU GIRL – “Ferris Wheel” from the debut s/t album on TESTCARD RECORDS                                                                                                                                              
  • Melbourne jangle /indie pop 4-piece fronted by former Lucksmiths bassists and Lost and Lonesome label head Mark Monnone, MONNONE ALONE “Feeling Together Feels Alright” from the second album “Summer Of The Mosquito” on Emotional Response
  • Toronto‘s indie /dream pop artist Jonathan K “Face Down” new single
  • Russian lo-fi /shoegaze /indie rock solo project Muffin Store “Years” from the album “Things I’d never say”
  • Huston, TX dream pop /shoegaze band SMALL CHAIR “Stay Away” new single
  • Brooklyn, NY based indie dream pop singer/songwriter Johanne Swanson aka Yohuna “Dead To Me” from the forthcoming album ‘Mirroring’ out June 7th on Orchid Tapes and Fear or Missing Out Records                 
  • Trondheim, Denmark post-punk /guitar pop /indie punk duo Company Ink “Young Milk” new single from incoming debut EP ‘Blah Blah’ via Propeller Recordings
  • Stockholm, Swedish indie/shoegaze/psychedelic solo project of former Blackstrap Jonatan Westh, aka HOLY SHIP “Mother Of God (Red Idiot Remix)” B-side of the new single “Mother Of God” on Declared Goods Records                                                                                                                                                                     
  • Detroit, Michigan lo-fi / shoegaze / noise-pop trio lead by Chloë Drallos, ZILCHED “SUNDAY MORNING” (The Velvet Underground cover)
  • Copenhagen’s electronic /dream folk songwriter Laurits Steinberg, aka KLAPTRAE “Beach Life” debut single.  
  • Swedish electronic dream pop / electro-pop project of Erik Lindestad from Malmö (formerly member of Stockholm duo Wild At Heart), The Land Below “Walk Like Nothing” new single
  • Sydney, Australia dream pop / shoegaze 5-piece TRILLION “Slow Down” from new EP “When I Wake”
  • Portland, Oregon lo-fi/shoegaze/drone project of Kyle Bates, aka DROWSE “Bipolar 1” from forthcoming album “Light Mirror” out June 7 on The Flenser                                                                                                       
  • Oslo-based Norwegian/Mexican ethereal electronic dream-folk songwriter/producer Maria Hillestad aka Carmen Villain “Observable Future” from the upcoming album “Both Lines Will Be Blue” out July 12th via Smalltown Supersound.

Tina Modotti | Roses | Mexico City | 1924.