WL//WH Track Of The Day: WISHBONE “Maelstrom”

Track Of The Day Wishbone

Hailing from the West Midlands, English trio Wishbone, made of Forrest Moore (Bass / Vocals), Ben Clapton (Guitar) & Adam Jackson (Drums), come soaked in blissful noisy fuzz, blending together their influences of grunge, shoegaze, post-rock and emo to create sludgy ‘Doom Pop’ tunes shrouded in caustic lyrics.
The brand new song “Maelstrom” is the second singles to be released from of the upcoming debut EP “Pseudo Planet” due out in April.
“Maelstrom” weaves in and out of rousing grunge inflexions and screeching noise-rock harshness, sharpening the contrast between the melodic and muscular to mesmeric effects, constantly nestled in a heady middle ground between doom and pop, distortion and harmony. Introduced by grit and heft of sludgy, foreboding cacophony, punchy drums along with tumbling darkened seething bassline underpin relentlessly burly and murky, fuzzy riffs that heavily reverberate around emotionally penetrating vocals of casual confidence, subtly betraying pain, as an undertow of anger pulls backdoor judgements from a harsh cynical heart.
With striking heartfelt intensity and solid and taut songwriting, definitely a band to keep a close eye on.
Keep up with Wishbone: