WL//WH Track Of The Day : HEXDEBT “Covenant”

Track Of The Day

Australian punk rockers HEXDEBT are the umpteenth band to be spawned from the fervent Melbourne underground music scene. Comprised of Agnes Whalan (vocals and guitar), Isobel D’cruz Barnes (bass and backing vocals), Aife Larkin (guitar) and Lucy Fry (drums), the 4-piece’s sound blends raw and urgent punk with post-punk and noise-rock elements, stuffed with fierce anger, attitude and integrity.

After last year powerful “Bitch Rising” EP and ferocious live performances,, they’ve just dropped the new single “Covenant” via Poison City Records, first preview from the upcoming debut LP coming out early next year.

Visceral and poignant, “Covenant” rumbles along in its dense, fractious and uneasy way, grounded by thumping drumming and tense and a throbbing bassline that stutters and judders throughout as dissonant and abrasive, searing guitar shards of fierce intensity fuel the increased sense of unease and frustration threatened by vibrant bitter and angsty raucous rants against the hypocrisy and arrogance of the people in power.

A song about indecision, anti-establishment, and bigotry. Tirades of injustice, anger, and undefined jurisdiction coincide with the displacement of Wurundejiri, traditional and continuing Indigenous custodians of the lands in which the band recorded, mixed and mastered the upcoming album and operate as a band. Frustrated, disgusted pleads go unrecognized as people continue to “speak your truth with no conviction!”

A sad, for the most unknown, local reality in today’s world of greed with no accountability.

Keep up with HEXDEBT :