WL//WH Track Of The Day: FRAGILE ANIMALS “Waiting”

Following an ever-growing string of brilliant EP’s and singles since 2017, Brisbane based dream-gaze power trio Fragile Animals, comprised of vocalist, bassist Victoria Jenkins, drummer Kyle Shipton and guitarist Daniel Parkinson, have just dropped their brand new single “Waiting”.

Striking a fine balance between energy and emotion, the band blends together shifting and atmospheric elegant guitar textures, harking back to the usual shoegaze suspects, and new wave-tinged bittersweet indie rock, with distinctive melodic quality and recurrent haunting undercurrents.

Introduced by slightly distorted hypnotic 6-string chords unsettled by sinister hisses, “Waiting” sucks you into a gripping and seductive swirl of energetic yet sparkling luscious guitar riffs, propulsive steadfast drums, and deep dense bassline, piercing through the dismal and intensive emotional inner realms shrouded in cold empty darkness in which the enticingly wistful voice glides and straddles introspective whispers and soaring catchy epic harmonies casting shadows about her sanity.

Keep up with Fragile Animals:

Photo by Jeff Andersen Jnr.