WL//WH Track-By-Track Album: immerse into the dark, cold and eerie realms of DEUS FAUST’s “Weltengeist” new LP

WL//WH Track-By-Track Album Deus Faust ‘Weltengeist’

Cover Art by JJD (Soft Riot)

Almost two years after their debut “What I Saw”, transatlantic darkwave project Deus Faust is back with the long-awaited second album “Weltengeist”.

“Weltengeist” translates as “world spirit” which is a metaphysical principle of the Hegelian philosophy and a term often used in the German literature of the Enlightenment era, among others by Schiller and Goethe – who has inspired the duo’s name with his famous drama Faust.

The album’s title and the concept get an additional meaning when seen in context to the EP “Geisterwelt “ (released in March and reviewed by Mike here), which translates as “spirit world”. This word-play with the titles showcases the symbolist approach of Deus Faust and puts these two releases in the context of the dichotomy RomanticismEnlightenment. A similar analogy can be found in the duo’s name (among many other encrypted details, keep in mind that the German word “Faust” means “fist” in English).

While “What I Saw” was a quite danceable and introspective release with clear influences from synthpop and synthwave, “Weltengeist” goes in a different direction: Raymond Nelson creates deep industrial soundscapes and rhythms, adorned with strikingly evocative piano notes, that buzz, rumble, soothe, envelop and chime, as to heighten and underlie the intimacy and emotional struggle revealed in André Savetier’s cryptic lyrics and the unconventional charm and allure from vocal style.

Inspired narratives from literature, myths, poetry, history, and popular culture come together to form a lyrical and vocal character struggling in dark subconscious fear and emotional human frailty.

  • Aphegesis
A song about stories, a meta-song about lyricism and narratives

Introduced by the arcane atmospheric soundscapes of the title track, uncanny harpsichord-like strings, percolating bassline and sinister swells of synth simmer around haunted, whispered male vocals dripping in magnetic inquisitive charm, become a comforting companion for dark obsessions, in an intimate portrait of a storyteller on a maddening quest for the “one tale I’ve never heard before.”

  • 1000 Nights
Arabian Nights from the point of view of the Sultan

Humming and eerie synth drifts along with poignant piano drops drawing blood from buried wounds, in a plea for the immortal wisdom and betrayal of Scheherazade, “the greatest storyteller of all time.”

  • Missing Pieces
A song about bitter memories and the resulting future angst. The first song where we use the bass-guitar, played by Savetier

Interspersed by moving wistful piano melodies, momentum switches gears dramatically with intense vocalizations agitated by bittersweet racing memories of an unforgettable innocence, mixed with painful regret left hanging in a helpless purgatory with “hope that it will last, but fear that it won’t.”

  • Hotspur
Inspired by Russian romanticist Mikhail Yurevich Lermontov (“A Hero of Our Time” and “The Cup of Life”), a tragic hero, sees himself thrown around by his fate

Charged by industrialized clanging rhythms and ominously skipping bassline, dramatic bright icy synth stabs cloud the pain of our tragic hero disillusioned by fate’s erratic flow.

  • Vertigo
A dynamic song about addiction, directionlessness, fear of and refuge from reality – There is so much in this song, let’s leave something for the listener to interpret

Extreme, lashing vocals cling to the warm comfort of chaos and indecision in a dynamic song propelled by splashing punchy rhythms and haunted by glowing creepy piano melodies.

  • Heart-Beat Me
A song about missed chances and the impossibility to overcome love. Duett with Marta Raya

Hectic rhythms, turbulent glaring airy synth, and swirling piano notes frame a beautifully dark duet with the striking soulful vocals of Marta Raya wept in broken dreams, missed chances, and undying love, “lost in the river of your heartbeat”.

  • Telesto XIII
A song about new hope, shame of the past, and fear of judgment – somehow connected to ‘Missing Pieces’ The only synthwave song on the album, because it was written by Ray already some years ago

Resounding hitting beats, hypnotically gurgling bassline, and glossy uncanny piano chords bloom a new hope distorted in the deformed reflections of shame, judgment, and distrust.

  • The End of Everything
A Laibach-esque song inspired by World War I, the feeling that the world ends, thrownness into a situation that can only get worse

Nihilistic pessimism plagues the foreboding finale inspired by WW1, as Apocalyptic uncertainty hangs over current World Affairs, leaving the protagonist once again floundering in fates misfortune shrouded in achingly gleaming flashes of frigid synth weeps.

Deus Faust‘s digital sophomore album “Weltengeist” is due to be released today, June 6, 2020, through the new dark alternative music collective Wave Noir.

Keep Up With Deus Faust:

Written with the precious collaboration of Catt Gillette.