WL//WH New Music: Texan Shoegazers EEP release their Second Single from upcoming Album “Winter Skin”

WL//WH New Music  EEP

Edited Photo by Pantaleon Mena

In anticipation of the release of “Winter Skin”, their second full-length album, El Paso, TX-based eclectic shoegaze band, EEP, is releasing a second single, “No Inbetween”, on Friday, Oct. 22 on Bandcamp. The song had its world premiere on Weds. Oct. 13 on Drowned In A Sea of Sound on DKFM Shoegaze Radio, a show hosted by Krissy Vanderwoude. The first single, “A Message To You,” was released on Oct. 1.

EEP is predominantly categorized as shoegaze/dream pop with influences of jazz, blues, electronica, and R&B flavouring its music. Based in El Paso, Texas, the band consists of founder and frontwoman, Rosie Varela, Ross Ingram (vocals, guitar), Sebastian Estrada (bass), Serge Carrasco (vocals, guitar) and Lawrence Brown III (vocals, drums).

“No Inbetween,” written by Varela, addresses the negative tendency we have to compare ourselves to others.

“I was talking to a dear friend in a band who was experiencing some high points in their musical output,” she says. “I noticed they weren’t enjoying what they had accomplished. They were comparing themselves to other artists who had reached different levels of success, and it was robbing them of fun and happiness. This chronic comparing of our lives to others happens a lot. The bridge in this song dares us to lay down our judgments and just have some fun!”

EEP plans to release one more single, “Angeles”, on Oct. 29, one week before the album. This will be premiered on DKFM show The Velvet Hum on Oct. 21.

This new 9-song album follows the debut release of “Death of A Very Good Machine” in July 2020. While progress was slowed due to COVID, the band found ways to collaborate remotely from home until they finally returned to the studio in March vaccinated and with masks.

The album is now available for preorder for digital, CD, and vinyl on the band’s Bandcamp,  Digital and CDs formats will be available on November 5, while the vinyl is estimated to be released in mid-April while suppliers try to catch up on production.

It is being released on Hogar Records, a new label started up by Varela, Ingram and Justin Oser, Varela’s husband. There are liner notes and lyrics for each song, and the album cover features a distinctive design by Roosevelt Design featuring metallic silver printing on the front and back of the album cover.

Have a look at the DIY visuals for “A Message For You” above, whilst more videos are being planned for “No Inbetween” and “Ángeles.”

Written by Deborah Sexton.

Keep up with EEP:

Photo by Pantaleon Mena