WL//WH New Music: MEYVERLIN “Casanova (7-inch version)”


Meyverlin, a trans-Atlantic Francophone Guitar Pop trio made up of Philippe Lavergne (Les Freluquets), Thierry Haliniak (My Raining Stars), and Gilles Ramey (lyrics) have unveiled the first song  “Casanova”, from the upcoming 2-track 7″ vinyl single “Casanova / Wasted Years”, as part of the Too Good To Be True Records’ 2022/23 Singles Club, scheduled for release on June 14, 2023, paired with a psychological video by fellow artist and musician Maud Anyways, I absolutely recommend checking out her music if you haven’t already .

The 80s/Italo Disco-infused “Casanova” will be included on the band’s forthcoming second album, “Therefore,” due out later this year always through Brest’s independent imprint Too Good To Be True Records.

Confessional lyrics give an inside look at the distorted mental workings of the archetypal “Casanova” character. Insightful and disturbing as it delves into the dual nature expressed by the imposter as both healer and shatterer of illusions toward the vulnerable object of desire.

The nostalgic and dreamy “Casanova” spins a cool, sultry, intoxicating neon-lit aura, to fuse warm, morphing synth swathes with skipping dancing rhythms, stuttering rubbery bass lines, wistful guitar melodies and euphoric icy bright swirling chords to encapsulate layers of stirring emotional croons and whispers with immersive mists of sentient bliss.

Dramatic visuals by Maud Anyways, capture an array of dazzling beauties set against an edgy nightclub backdrop to sync mysteriously with the dark fantasy aesthetic of the soundtrack. Intimate dance sequences and suggestive poses stir loose, whimsical vibes through a mirage of symbolic hues, skewed camera angles, and evocative facial expressions to illuminate a dangerous “Casanova of lost souls” making their move under the strobing neon lights.

Meyverlin‘s new tune, “Casanova”, has been dropped simultaneously with the first preview, titled  “Dodge the Rain”, from the fifth and final 7″ single “Dodge the Rain / Paris Windows” by The Gentle Spring, a Paris-based new Indie Pop band formed by Émilie Guillaumot and Michael Hiscock, best-known as The Field Mice’s co-founder and bass player. 

The full release of both singles is scheduled for June 14, 2023, in 7″ Vinyl & Digital formats, as part of the 2022/23 Singles Club boxset, which will include all five singles as well as a booklet, a poster, and badges, via Too Good To Be True label.