WL//WH Track Of The Day: LONE ASSEMBLY “All Around Me”


After last year’s impressive debut single “Seven souls”, the up-and-coming Geneva, Switzerland-based quartet Lone Assembly, made of Raphaël Bressler (vocals, keys), Glenn Le Meur (guitar), Jim Bodeman (bass) and Keryan Wurlod (drums), have dropped the second preview, titled “All Around Me”, from the band’s forthcoming debut EP, “That Never Happened”, due out on April 19th, 2024.

Blending an ’80s sheen of romantic and decadent noir-tinged New Wave / Synthpop with cold shadowplays of gloomy Post-Punk, conjuring echoes of Joy Division, The Chameleons, Echo & Bunnymen, U2, Interpol and Editors, the four-piece concocts with personality an equally atmospheric, vibrant and hypnotic shadowy sound, simmering with pathos, of nuanced elegance, and expressive sobriety, uplifted by alluring plaintive croons.

“That Never Happened” EP cover artwork by @victormacneil

“All Around Me” is a song about fighting demons, falling into darkness, and fearing love.

Underpinned by steady thudding drum beats along with a relentlessly throbbing broody bassline, deeply felt emotional baritones give off an echoey epic and melancholic feel, topped by skyscraping guitar glares, resonant poignant piano keys, and sparkling wailing swirls, to evoke sadness and pain at the hands of human suffering.

Keep up with Lone Assembly:

photo by @iamchloebonnard